Big Bill Backward’s True-Faced Western Tales, 9: Airedale Airmail

‘Worked with some fine Airydales when I wuz ai-tached to thu Chimeric Postal Services,’ recalled Big Bill Backwards. ‘Intelligent canines…’

*

‘None of them could fly a plane worth a dang, and it wuz a shame to see them keep on tryin. Lost a lot of good dawgs n letters too…’

*

‘I remember one time my albatross went down in The Mountains of Madness, and that woulda been it for me ifn an Airydale hadn’t saved me.’

*

‘Dragged me by the collar back to its aerie, where there wuz a litter a pups whose wings hadn’t spread, n that Airydale fed me on her milk.’

*

‘When those dawgs were all growed, I rigged me a sled from albatross bones, n they pulled n flew it all the way to the nearest ice station.’

*

‘Still remember those dawgs like they wuz my own kin: Gnashr, Findr n Grindr, Blixen, Vomit, Stoopid, Doner n Kebab, n Andrey Rublev.’

*

‘Had to eat most of em before we made Bear Mountain, but Andrey Rublev still draws me cards for Chimeramas. One talented sonavabitch.’

Leave a Reply

