Big Bill Backward’s True-Faced Western Tales, 7: Barnacle Bill Backwards Sails Close to the Edge

‘Jess waitin till I sober up enough to be able to get up n fetch me another drink. Boat kin steer itself till then…’

*

‘Main thing on these “Edge of the World” cruises is not to second guess yore actual edge of the world. Lotta “captains” miss out that way…’

*

‘Steer em safe past the Maelstrom n don’t lose nobody to the Sirens, they ain’t gonna thank yew for gettin _near_ the edge of the world.’

*

‘Ifn the bow goes over we kin still go back-a-ways, n if the stern goes over, we wuz pointin in the right direction in the first place.’

*

‘Folk ask what’s down there n I say I don’t recall: most of it’s fallin so fast n yellin so loud yew can’t hardly point a telescope at it.’

*

‘One thing I do not like is when Lucifer n his boys start fallin upwards for a prank n singin shanties backwards: that’s bad for business.’

*

‘Got me a wingéd harpy for a figurehead n she’s chained to my ankle. Reckon I’m good for an abandon shipment even ifn I do pass out cold.’

Leave a Reply

