Saw Dust: an Old Song

His Master's View

I’m the sawdust from when the magician sawed the woman in half: I’m no longer part of the box, so am I part of the woman?

*

I’m the jar the woman keeps the sawdust in. She takes me out of the cupboard and unscrews my lid and weeps into me, but only from one eye.

*

I’m the eye with which the woman weeps into the jar. Since he sawed her in half every part of her feels independent from every other part.

*

I am the lake deep inside the sawdust inside the jar, formed from the great tears. I am a sphere of weeping, I am an eye that never opens.

*

I’m the fish the magician catches when he lets a line down into the lake within the sawdust. No-one can figure out how he got into the jar.

*

I am the fish’s eyeball: the magician will saw me in half tonight on stage and the woman will step out unharmed and I will weep sawdust.

*

I am the saw who saw how the trick was done. Later I will sing to the magician and the woman and the fish. They will keep the song in a jar.

Leave a Reply

